Address: 59 Lee Road · Jacksonville, Fl 32225

Brumos Racing #59 Hurley Haywood

When most people hear the name of Brumos, they immediately think of Hurley Haywood. Haywood’s association with Brumos began in the late 1960’s and the relationship is still going strong. Haywood built his career and made history behind the wheel of a #59 Brumos Porsche, racing for the Jacksonville, Florida-based team for over forty years. The number of significant race wins and championships he accumulated throughout his career made him the most successful endurance racing driver in history, a record that stands to this day.

His participation in a local autocross event as a Florida college student put Hurley in competition with the young rising star, Peter Gregg. After besting Gregg, the two became friends and formed a racing partnership that would eventually be known around the world. From his career debut in 1969 at Watkins Glen, which also brought his first victory, to his final race in the 2012 Rolex 24 that ended with a podium finish, Haywood’s list of accomplishments is unmatched. He may be best known for winning the Rolex 24 at Daytona five times; the 24h LeMans three times; and the 12h of Sebring twice, but he is also known to many in his role as Vice President of Brumos Porsche and Chief Driving Instructor for the Porsche Sports Driving School and the Brumos Driving Experience.

After marking his historic 40th start in 2012 for the 50th anniversary Rolex 24, Hurley was back at Daytona in 2013. However, this time he was not behind the wheel of the #59 Brumos racecar. Instead, he was honored by being chosen to serve as Grand Marshal for the event. Although Brumos was not racing in 2014, Hurley was again at Daytona, being asked to work with Dempsey Racing as a driving coach and mentor for Patrick Dempsey.

Hurley’s contributions were recognized in a very special way by Porsche in 2012 with the introduction of an exclusive Brumos 911 Carrera GTS. The special ‘B59’ edition was limited to a five-car run, each car representing one of his five Daytona wins. His past honors include induction into the Florida Sports Hall of Fame, the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, the Sebring Hall of Fame, and Watkins Glen’s ‘Legends of the Glen’. He was recently selected as recipient of the Simeone Automotive Museum’s ‘Spirit of Competition’ Award and chosen by the RRDC for the 2014 Phil Hill Award

Career Achievements

  • 2009 Grand-Am Rolex Series, 3rd place podium finish in Rolex 24 at Daytona, overall win at Homestead finale

  • 2008 Competed in three endurance races for Brumos #59 car

  • 2007 4th place finish in the Rolex 24 and 3 top six finishes for the season

  • 2005 Inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America

  • 2003 Grand-Am Rolex Series inaugaural season with 2 victories, 8 podium finishes, 3rd overall in Driver Points

  • 1994 North American GT Endurance Champion

  • 1992 Inducted into The Florida Sports Hall of Fame, runner-up Supercar Champion

  • 1991 Supercar Champion

  • 1988 SCCA TransAm Champion

  • 1981 Fastest Indy Rookie

  • Five-time winner of the 24 Hours of Daytona

  • Most road racing victories at Daytona International Speedway

  • Three-time winner of the 24 Hours of LeMans

  • 18 Indy Car starts and three-time IROC participant

  • First driver to win 24 Hours of Daytona and 24 Hours of LeMans in the same year

  • Two-time winner of the 12 Hours of Sebring

  • All-time winner of Endurance Classics: 10 wins at Daytona, LeMans and Sebring